Busking for Santa: Hour 12


Of course I wanted to return to the spot where Hour 11 was a Christmas miracle. Pickle and I ate a good breakfast, got in our busking gear and headed out.

We found our spot, sang a song and a half and then the cops approached.

I have seen many a cop pass me on this journey and also, I went to the cops first before I even began this project to make sure I followed all the rules.

You can’t be here.
~What? I’m so surprised. I asked the cops before I started this project and they said I could sing anywhere. Cops passed me yesterday.
Here?
~Yeah, here. I’ve been doing this since the 2nd and I have never been stopped.
Yeah but you have the baby and the weather.
~I have had all 3 of my kids out doing it. We are raising money for a family in need (reference bag)– I showed this bag to a cop before I even started to make sure I wasn’t breaking any laws.  You’re just being a Scrooge today?

[Yes, I was still smiling and jovial, trying to sincerely win them over]

Our bosses are here today and we are cleaning up, Bloomberg is coming.
~Well, of course I am going to go, but I just don’t understand, because I thought I had covered all my bases. I made $150- here in one hour yesterday…I only do it for an hour, the baby usually sleeps.
~You can’t have the baby here
Then I started to cry and said: I’m sorry I am just so disappointed because I have a goal of raising $1,000 and this is such a great spot to do it.

[wiping my tears, gathering up my things]

the SECOND cop chimes in:

Just walk a block down to the 57th street stop, I’m sure you’ll make [adds emphasis here] $200 dollars in an hour.

I walk, dejectedly away.

Seriously though it took me a long time to recover, and I kept thinking it through in my head and I just thought the following:

I BOUGHT MY BABY A LITTLE SUIT SPECIFICALLY FOR THIS PURPOSE.  WE HAVE BEEN OUT IN MUCH WORSE WEATHER…PLENTY OF COPS HAVE SEEN ME, PASSED ME, SMILED AT ME!  CLEANING UP? ARE YOU LOOKING AT ME? I EVEN WASHED MY HAIR TODAY! FULL FACE OF MAKEUP, I DON’T LOOK POOR I AM NOT STANDING IN ANYONE’S WAY I AM SINGING ABOUT JESUS!

I DO THIS FOR ONE HOUR AT A TIME, IT’S NOT LIKE I AM SITTING ON THE FLOOR NURSING MY BABY WITH A CARDBOARD SIGN IN WHICH I HAVE WRITTEN MY LIFE’S TALE AND AM EXPECTING PEOPLE TO PAY FOR MY LIFE

THIS IS CHARITY!

DO YOU KNOW WHAT LOGISTICAL COORDINATION IT TAKES TO EVEN BE STANDING HERE RIGHT NOW? DO YOU KNOW HOW FRIED MY VOICE IS BUT I JUST KEEP GOING BECAUSE ALL I CAN THINK ABOUT IS NEXT WEEK WHEN WE DROP THESE GIFTS OFF AND SURPRISE SOMEONE?

SERIOUSLY DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY DRUG DEALERS JUST PASSED BY RIGHT NOW WHILE YOU WERE HAVING THIS CONVERSATION WITH ME AND NOW THEY ARE GOING FREE AND I AM STILL A HUNDRED DOLLARS AWAY FROM MY GOAL? YOU INTERRUPTED THE FIRST NOEL!

And then I went shopping which helped a little. NOT WITH BUSKING MONEY!

And then I told my tale to the cops that stand outside of Bloomberg’s house.  I told them everything, they listened intently and then said:” I think you should go back and sing,” and gave me 5 bucks.

So, now what?

2 responses to “Busking for Santa: Hour 12

  1. Jennifer in GA

    Go back and sing. :)

  2. The way you stand up for yourself is amazing and admirable. It’s too bad there are Scrooges in the world.

Leave a Reply

