Iceland: Wool


IMG_2530Icelanders love their wool.  I knew I needed to go on a yarn crawl, and I was not disappointed! This is my yarn crawl in Iceland outfit!

We visited the Handknitting Association of Iceland to try on some sweaters.  The girls and I knitted on to their piece at the front of the store. Knitters from all over signed the log after knitting a few rows!

handknittingThere was a great selection of sweaters and yarn there but I didn’t buy anything.  They had a few DAM trolls wearing their sweaters. I used to collect DAM brand trolls as a kid and seeing these brought me WAY back…..I saved a few, but they are lost somewhere in my parents house…I may need to get one.

handknitting2Our next stop was Storkurinn.

stork yarnThis store was the most like stores in the USA.  I felt like I was in the USA when I was here.  It was organized and clean and beautiful.  I loved the wall hangings above the register: various sized tiny balls of yarn in similar colorways all organized in a circle.  I bought a skein here that reminded me of the colors I was seeing in Iceland–a lot of mustard yellow and purple.

little knitting shopNext we headed to THE LITTLE KNITTING SHOP.  I fell in love with the display of buttons and bought 5000 krona worth.  I loved the green dress in the window and the beautiful red velvet couch.  There was also a basket of toys for the wee ones to play with–brilliant! If I lived in Reykjavik, this might be my store.

On our way to the final stop, we headed to A4 to see some fabric that I had seen on a blog.  The price seemed too high for me (though I might have been wrong as I was still learning the krona to dollars ratios and wasn’t sure if it was just for a yard or whatever), so I just focused on the selection of lopi they had. This is where I got my 50g balls because it seemed like the best price I had seen so far.  I was surprised to see a whole crafting section in this office supply store.

Finally we stopped by Alafoss.  This store mostly had lopi, the Icelandic wool yarn.  Though I’m not a huge 100% wool fan for my fiber arts, I had to get the authentic wool from Iceland and knit something with it! I had already gotten several balls at A4, but Lolly spotted some NEON in 100 gram balls, so I went for it.

A1 allafossShe and Phoebe designed some items for themselves based on items they saw for sale in this store, and it ended up being the perfect souvenir! Yarn!

IMG_2672Thanks to my cousin Jana who sent me over to this blog with all the yarn store recommendations.  And thanks to my family for supporting my passion.  Here is the stash I brought home…could you die over those sweet wooden buttons?

A

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Iceland: Wool

  1. Is this Heaven? No….this is Iceland!

  2. oh my gosh THOSE TROLLS

Leave a Reply

