Heaven is Here


I finally read it.

I picked it up in Provo along with a cupcake from The Sweet Tooth Fairy Bakery–I thought it fitting since Nie is such a big fan. I was secretly hoping she would show up to get some cupcakes just as I was picking out this Somoa one.

utah tri[p

This is the first book I have read since maybe even before I was pregnant.  I couldn’t put it down.  Even though I knew a bunch of it, reading it from her voice, on these pages, was a wonderful experience.

Not that mine (or barely anyone’s) adversity is anything close to hers, I did find my own sense of hope in reading through her trials.  Both of us experienced life changing events in 2008.  I was always inspired when I went to her blog and read about her latest triumph or failure.  I felt like someone understood me.

Which reminded me that this was the first time, the anniversary of HB08 came and went and I didn’t even think about it–my mind did not even go there or land on it or spend one second on it.  That is progress.

I am so grateful for time and healing and moving forward and progress and learning from the past.  I was so excited to learn that Nie Nie was expecting a baby girl around the same time as me.  Our little Phoenix babies rising from the ashes of our cleansing experiences.  Every time I see her baby on Instagram, I am so happy for both of us all over again.  Our bodies–healing, growing, creating more little people.  Stephanie Nielsen, I doubt you will ever read this post, but in the event you do, thank you for writing this book, your blog and continuing to inspire me to be a better woman.

3 responses to “Heaven is Here

  1. Helen Knowles

    Wow, time flies by. I can’t believe it’s been 5 years since HB08. It’s so neat it came and went and you didn’t think about it. I’m going to get her book – she has an amazing story to tell.

  2. I remember exactly where I was when I got the email about what had happened to you (very ghetto Internet center in the DR that had no lights but the sunlight coming in through the door). It was one of those times I wish I could have called to chat and make sure things were OK. Knowing you, I knew everything would be just fine though because you’re strong and fighter! I share this sentiment now because I couldn’t really 5 years ago.

    A lot of people would have used that day as an excuse to give up. Way to bounce back. You go girl!

    -Love your fav bro.

Leave a Reply

