Hello!


My latest routine involves watching a little Today Show (I tried CBS and ABC but I just love my Today Show).  Though I do miss Ann.

Every day a commercial for Book of Mormon (the musical) comes on and I hear voices overlapping with a few lyrics that stand out:

“And I would like to share with you the most amazing book…
You simply won’t believe how much this book can change your life…”

Lately my facebook feed has become more overrun with enthusiasm over The Book of Mormon as it has arrived in Chicago (remember, I’m a Chicago girl).

I like to tweet, blog and facebook about things that I just LOVE, (Downton, Diorshow mascara, Justin’s Chocolate Almond Butter, to name a few) and I happen to LOVE The Book of Mormon (not the musical).

Today during our daily morning (very brief) devotional, we read this:

“Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love, which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ; that ye may become the sons of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure.”

-Moroni 7:48 (a book in the BOM)

With the scripture, comes a thought from our former (now deceased) Prophet, President Hinckley:

“Love is the very essence of life.  It is the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.  Yet it is more than the end of the rainbow.  Love is the security for which children weep, the yearning of youth, the adhesive that binds marriage, and the lubricant that prevents devastating friction in the home; it is the peace of old age, the sunlight of hope shining through death.”

Friends! It resonated with me today! Love is where it’s at.

In our church, the earliest you can get baptized is age 8.  Typically, this is when children raised in the church get baptized.  I want Lolly to make the choice on her own, so we have been having the missionaries over to give her the low down.  She was pretty thrilled to be given her own copy of the Book of Mormon. You can have one too.  Or, I would be happy to send you one myself with a note. Just leave your contact email in the comments.

Look! Real Mormon Missionaries! (not actors)

IMG_8175

I’m a Mormon!

7 responses to “Hello!

  1. I would love a Book of Mormon. My parents left religion for me to decide as I got older. I am looking to move to New York within the next year, but even at 36, my parents are afraid I will lose who I am & my principles. I know no one in New York, so I would like to have a church foundation.
    Thank you,

  2. Dad and I are weeping.

  3. Thank you so much. You are a wonderful role model, even for my age of women.
    ~Cristi

  4. You made my day! ….and like your parents I’m doing the same.

  5. I’d be interested to hear how you prep your girls for baptism. Same as you I want T to feel like he’s really making his own choice (as much as possible, at age 8 – ya know). Any tips you wanna pass along? I like that you had the missionaries over for her.

  6. Catherine Adler

    Kristy, I was just going to FB u on ur thoughts of Book of Mormon , if it was disrespectful to you etc. and then I read this blog post. Beautifully stated.

Leave a Reply

