Knit: Missoni-Inspired Blanket


missoni 1When Target came out with their Missoni line, I was loving it.  Unfortunately I could only snag a pair of rainboots for Lolly.  I had already fallen in love with chevrons, as that was my first attempt at an afghan and crocheting.  When I saw this Pattern, it was the best of both worlds.  Missoni, chevron-love it.

However…it was KNITTING.  I had successfully attempted knit chevrons after many many attempts and pulling it out a bunch of times, but this seemed intimidating!

Fortunately I got the hang of it much quicker than projects past…I think this pattern was easier than my first knit chevron pattern.  I love making afghan’s out of acrylic when I know they are going to a home with children, so that it can be easily washed and dried.  Vanna’s Choice was the perfect choice for this project (I picked out the yarn last summer at the Lion Brand Event!)

I changed the pattern slightly in that I made it about half the width and I ended it when I thought it was just the right size…there were more rows of dusty purple and light blue, but I thought it looked just right.

There are some mistakes, but none so noticeable that it needed to be done all over again.  I consider them my signature, and I hope the recipient loves it as much as I do. This one was hard to part with for sure.

missoni 2

4 responses to “Knit: Missoni-Inspired Blanket

  1. Helen Knowles

    Wow, that looks like it’s in 3-D – beautiful.

  2. My favorite so far!!

  3. Stunning!!!!

  4. Gorgeous! It turned out great! Mistakes and all.

Leave a Reply

