Drood


When I was in high school, I got a chance to play Edwin Drood in The Mystery of Edwin Drood.  It was such an awesome experience for all of us because none of us had been exposed to this piece and it was truly unique.  There is audience participation and different endings depending on the audience vote and a play within a play and it is all sorts of fun.

Imagine my delight when I found out one of my besties got cast in the Broadway version of Drood, covering Chita Rivera as Princess Puffer.  I was so excited when I found out she was going on for Ms. R, and promptly bought my ticket.

drood 1

I wasn’t sure if I would remember the piece or not, but of course everything came rushing back to me.  I loved being reminded of NO GOOD CAN COME FROM BAD and PERFECT STRANGERS and I HAVE READ THE WRITING ON THE WALL.  I loved it.

drood 2

Alison playing Chita was trippy.  It was obvious the production was lit to highlight the famous veteran of the theatre.  In every stage tableau, Alison was in the center.  There was one song in which she sat on a chair the entire time–clearly the song was blocked for an 80-year-old woman, not Alison.  She did well with it and I loved seeing her play Puffer.

It’s open for a few more months, I highly recommend it. Will Chase (who I knew nothing about before going) was worth the price of admission.  What a talent!  His patter song with Jim Norton was so impressive, and Betsy Wolfe can SANG…. I need to see more theatre!

3 responses to “Drood

  1. I loved it too! In the audience improv before the show told Will Chase I loved him and he said he loved me back. Highlight of my career. LOL

  2. I am dying to see it. Hope it comes out here.

  3. I have a crush on Will Chase and would LOVE to see him in this. I played Helena years ago and have a special place in my heart for Drood.

Leave a Reply

