Sandy Update


Life has returned to normal for me post-Sandy.  However there is still so much need.

We have a FEMA employee attending our services on Sunday and mini-groups of members headed to Far Rockaway on Saturdays and Sundays to help with the continued clean up. This is what it looks like:

Jason received an email from a woman in California, writing about her 8-year-old daughter who wanted to help.  An excerpt from her email:

“My 8 yr. old daugher, has a strong desire to help those affected by Sandy’s storm…  [She]  is setting up donations through her school and family and friends and wants to send them to help people suffering.  I am sorry to be bothering you, I just wanted to do all I can to help my daughter that so badly wants to help.  It’s what she talks about all day everyday.  She even fasted today to help the people affected by the storm.  She is so sweet and compassionate and I am so proud that she has such a strong desire to help out. ”

We have received 10 boxes of donations so far, and are expecting 3 more.   Jason has made sure they get to the people who are in need.

I try to put myself in their shoes.  What would I have done if I had lived in those houses?  I probably would have evacuated for Irene, and then seeing that that was no big deal, stayed in my home for Sandy.  Or would I have?  This experience has taught me that I cannot risk the lives of my kids, so I think I would err on the side of caution.  Many people stayed and watched their houses get destroyed by the water.  What a helpless feeling that must have been to see the water gush in.

Obviously I didn’t go downtown into the powerless parts of the city when the power was out.  I have only been as low as Franklin street since, and I saw nothing out of the ordinary.  But last week I heard a story on WNYC about South Street Seaport.  I loved that little nook in the city.  I loved seeing the Bodies exhibit, shopping at The Gap (even though it ALWAYS smelled like fish), seeing that Blue School set up shop there and watching the Big Apple Chorus sing in front of the tree!

Once we saw John Lithgow perform there in the pouring rain.  I even took my Twiggy pix at the Southstreet Seaport.  Here I am, there.

Apparently it’s completely destroyed and the big businesses are slow to rebuild so the small businesses surrounding it are tanking.  Here are some photos of it, post-Sandy.

Click on this.  Can you believe that?

Anyway, I had the opportunity to sing in church on Sunday and I chose one of my favorite hymns: Where Can I Turn for Peace?  Ironically, there is a little video with the Motab singing it to devastation all too similar to Sandy devastation.

During this holiday Season I hope that those most deeply affected will find peace.

One response to “Sandy Update

  1. This post is so touching. Because as a world we are so connected with the internet, I think it has given many individuals cause for reflection and reason to regroup personal priorities. Thanks for keeping us posted from your vantage point.

Leave a Reply

