Twiggy Shoot


I have had some events on my calendar for a while, and I have been full of anticipation for said events to help me get through the last leg of pregnancy…

Last week I took my pregnancy portraits with Wendy of Blue Lily.

I can’t remember where the idea came from, but MONTHS ago I decided the theme of the shoot would be: Twiggy gets knocked up.

I gathered images from the interwebs for inspiration:

Then I did some shopping on etsy and got those pieces altered to fit my pregnant non-twiggyish figure.  I did some makeup practice and then bought the items that I needed to make it even better (thank you mac, you always come through).

Whoo! Those lashes…I was lucky to get it right without REALLY practicing it again before the shoot date.

I rode the subway with my first complete look on and totally caught this guy taking a picture of me.  A man of my own heart.  I totally would have taken my picture too. I looked ridiculous…don’t forget I had a HUGE belly to go with the face and the outfit. awesome.

I scouted locations through an architecture book I borrowed from a friend and found this AWESOME building which unfortunately was shrouded with scaffolding when we arrived! GRRRRR….

But Wendy spied some benches like those around the corner so we did some shots there and at Southstreet Seaport.  We also found a secluded little courtyard way downtown-ideal for privacy while shooting and CHANGING on the streets of NYC!

We ended the shoot at the Trump Building because that crazy globe was built in the 60’s! I learned a lot about the buildings in NYC while looking through that book.  Jen helped me with my jewelry for that look–love how the earrings match the globe!

We had so much fun–the weather was PERFECTION and I even ran into to two different friends while shooting. Bizarre.  I cannot wait to see the finished result.

7 responses to “Twiggy Shoot

  1. The look is spot on! Trust me….I was a Twiggy worshipper!

  2. Helen Knowles

    It’s kind of scary how much you resemble her (although I must say you are much prettier).

  3. i am loving your earrings!! especially the hoops…where can i score those???

    • Kristy Glass

      I made them. You can get those beads and hoops at a bead store. I got these at Bead Center in manhattan. I just strung the beads on the hoops– done!

      I’m on the go – excuse the typos!

  4. i can’t wait too! so fun.

  5. Great idea and you nailed it! What is the name of the architecture book?

Leave a Reply

