I’m a Mormon


In the middle of Jason’s nasty virus, the mormon.org peops came over to tape our family.  The poor man lugged himself out of bed and took a shower, only to endure a few hours of interviewing and commuting that he frankly wasn’t up for.   He was very comfortable on camera.  I was so proud of him.  Too bad he didn’t make the cut.

My favorite moment of the taping was when the crew was getting an aerial view of our family crossing the street.  We gathered on the corner, and the light changed heading in our normal direction, but also the OUT-of-SHOT direction, and Jason took that light and crossed the street.  I had no idea he wasn’t behind us as we crossed the street in camera view.  By the time we crossed and I realized he wasn’t there, I teased him for not being in the camera mindset.

We had to do it all over again.

I saw an earlier version of our mormon message and I am sad to say, they edited out the line I used while crocheting: “I’m a happy hooker.” I understand why.  I regret the shots of my backside while running through Central Park as well.

It still surprises me when the pain of my past still feels raw.  It was hard to talk about it, but I am glad I did it.  I know so many women who have bad relationships with a parent, and the only way to move forward is to forgive them…it’s also the hardest thing to do.

This is what i wrote on my profile:

I am a wife. I am a mother of two daughters. I am a professional actor working in New York City. I am a PTA Mom. I am a blogger. I am an amateur photographer and fiber artist.

I’m discovering myself as I walk these city streets.

I’m a Mormon.

Why I am a Mormon

Though raised a Mormon, I became truly converted as I came of age. When I was heading into my teens I decided to try an experiment. I would obey the commandments set forth for me, and see what happened. After faith, prayer, dedication and some time, I found that obedience = blessings. That formula is always true and has never failed me. That is why I’m a Mormon.

VIDEO HERE

6 responses to “I’m a Mormon

  1. LOVED this. Thank you for sharing with the world why you are a Mormon and forgiveness. We need a lot more of that.

  2. awesome. I love your message! I hope you don’t mind if I post it and spread the Kristy love.

  3. Loved it. A wonderful message presented beautifully.

  4. YAY! I came here because I saw your Mormon.org video and I used to read your blog way back in the day! I loved it. You did a great job, thanks for being so personal. It’s hard to share hard things!

  5. bellabeanphotography

    Found you on Mormon.org. Wow we must share the same dad. Thanks for being inspiring.

Leave a Reply

