Accomodations


Jason and I were first lured into the idea of a Disney Trip when I saw that the Disney Princess Half Marathon was the same week as our Winter Break.  When I went to register I saw it was on a Sunday, and Jason and I have committed to not racing on Sunday, I was disappointed about passing.

Then I found out I was expecting, so I was A. no longer interested in training for a half marathon and B. thought it would be nice to take the girls on a last hurrah! baby moon.

We looked into Delta Vacation packages and ended up booking at the Animal Kingdom Lodge.  It was really fun to stay on site with the cool Savannah Animals.  The pool was awesome and we really enjoyed the night time, outdoor viewing of The Lion King (not African Cats as it turns out).  The only downside for us was the lack of variety in food choices.  Next time we may rent a car or stay somewhere else…we’ll see.

We made good friends with the giraffes that often grazed outside our window.  I loved sitting by the pool and working on my latest knitting project while the girls swam.  The flamingos were quite beautiful and super noisy during the movie, especially when there was loud sound feedback.  Among the beautiful foliage, we believe we found the plant that inspired one of our favorite songs: Popcorn Popping.

Can you see Lolly holding an ostrich in her hand in the bottom shot?  That ostrich hung around our pad a lot too.

3 responses to “Accomodations

  1. I loved following you in twitter, looks like you guys had such a great time!! I bet the girls loooved it!

  2. I would trade some giraffes in my backyard for these pesky rabbits!

  3. i am so jealous! we wanted to stay there but couldn’t make it work. so glad you enjoyed it. we’re shooting for that next time!

Leave a Reply

