Christmas 2011


I have been looking forward to Christmas Day for weeks and weeks.  I prepared a special gift for my family and the whole morning for me, became about that gift.  I could barely keep track of what other gifts I had bought/needed to buy, I found myself sewing my handmade gifts at the last possible second, and ended up with more than I needed, so took some stuff home for future birthdays.  I had the special gift just right though, and that’s all I could think about for weeks.

Christmas morning came and I really tried to enjoy the girls seeing what Santa brought and watching each family member open their gifts.  Towards the end I got a little antsy, as mine was the last gift of Christmas.

Finally it was time and my children opened the gift.  There were 3 clues in a box within a box within a box.  I knew my adult family members figured it out even BEFORE we got to the last gift of Christmas, but it still brought tears to all of our eyes as the children figured out what the gift was: A baby!

I didn’t know what to expect as far as a reaction, but I was surprised when Phoebe’s eyes welled up with tears and she embraced Lolly and me in a group hug.  After they processed the news a bit there were little eeks and squeals throughout the day.  They both became very aware of my stomach area, Lolly not allowing me to pick her up at all and both getting things for me when I asked the first time.  During church Phoebe said: “I just want to be next to you all the time now.”  It was really hard to wait and hide it all this time, but it was so worth it to be able to give them the gift of a baby on Christmas day.

The snowman ornament was the last part of the clues and when Phoebe saw the baby snowman she knew.  The avocado represents how big the baby is on Christmas Day.  The t-shirts we gave them after they figured it out…I thought it would be fun for them to wear to school when they get back.

12 responses to “Christmas 2011

  1. I was there and it was a very tender moment.

  2. Helen Knowles

    Have missed your blog posts over the past few weeks – glad you are posting again, and particularly glad for this post. I like the tummy photo. Congratulations again Glass Posse.

  3. I was absolutely gobsmacked when I read the news on FB Christmas morn.
    To me, the wording on the t-shirts imply that there will be a “littlest sister”, but how crazy would it be for you to suddenly have a BOY in the house?
    Either way, congrats! Great Christmas surprise!

  4. Thanks for sharing these details. You paint the picture beautifully! Showing them an avacado, that was a grand idea. So the sweet love that is born with each child is already present within your family. That’s the best with more bests yet to be.

  5. I shared tears of joy with you that day. I couldn’t be happier for you and your sweet family. So excited for June baby!! xoxo

  6. Oh a big congrads to you and your cute family. What a fab way to tell your family.

  7. I am so happy for you and your family. Tears of joy are streaming down my face for you. Yahoo! Will be keeping you in my prayers that all will go well for you this pregnancy and that there are no repeats of seizures. Happy New Year!

  8. I love your blog. I am so happy for you and think that is one of the sweetest posts I have ever read. I am so happy for your family.

  9. So excited for you Kristy! I think it’s so cute how you told your girls. Are you going to find out the gender? We had a girl after two boys and it has been quite an adventure. Wishing you luck for a happy pregnancy! :)

  10. Thank you all! I wanted to be surprised at what I was having but the rest of the Posse seems to want to find out next month. Now that my severe aversion to crocheting/knitting has waned, I may want to find out too, so that I can make some things for Baby.

  11. I was “gobsmacked” (great word D) as well! But over the moon happy for you all!! How soon did the adults figure it out and how did they figure it? This will be one loved baby….congratulations Kage!!

    • Kristy Glass

      I had mentioned an “epic surprise” this Christmas, so I think they were trying to figure it out….but nobody spoiled it…..

Leave a Reply

