5 Days of Christmas: Christmas Card


I’ve known for a while that I wanted to have our card this year be an Awkward Family Photo.  I love the blog/book and apparently it’s a thing people like to talk about it.  We worked really hard to brainstorm as many awkward poses as we could come up with, gathered some outfits, and we were ready to shoot.  I am very happy with the final product, but I really really hope the recipients “get” that it’s an intentional awkward photo.

I am getting a little worried as I receive Christmas cards and I have to ask myself: did they KNOW this was awkward?  Now you’re wondering if I’m talking about yours…if you are wondering, then, yup, yours probably looked a little awkward. And that’s ok!  I still love it! Send me one next year too!

Here are the outtakes from our shoot:

And here is the finished product:

Here is what I love about this photo:
My outfit (Thank you etsy)
Phoebe’s long bare legs
Lolly’s wonky ponytail
The phallic shape of the candy cane headbands
Matching Reindeer sweaters
Phoebe only in socks
Our facial expressions
The background (thank you google images search)
Jason’s green pants (thank you photoshop)

I have to thank these ladies for the photography and the photoshopping.  I love how our card turned out this year.

7 responses to “5 Days of Christmas: Christmas Card

  1. Oh my goodness I love the outtakes! So glad you posted them. I hope my card wasn’t considered awkward! Ha ha Merry Christmas!

  2. It was awesome and I can’t love that outfit of yours any more. In fact, I’m almost sure my Mother had one just like it in the 70’s. LOVED the photo!!

  3. Cute card but I don’t think people would realize it’s intentionally awkward. Maybe you should’ve put “have yourself an awkward little christmas” just to make it a little more obvious….

  4. I think I had that outfit as a child. Circo 1975 or so. Anyway, Merry Christmas! Love, Your funny Christmas card!

  5. Well, OURS certainly was. But that’s what happens with you try to dress your entire family in full winter gear when it’s 65 degrees. Those kids were HOT and CRANKY.

  6. I love it! And congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

