5 Days of Christmas: Night in Bethlehem


In past years I have always blogged 12 Days of Christmas leading up to Christmas Day.  In my life experience, many times a 12 Days of Christmas was a gifting system that always lead up to Christmas Eve. I have even given gifts like that.  It turns out, the 12 Days of Christmas start on Christmas and go into January–who knew?  Not me.

Since I have been wrong about the 12 Days of Christmas my whole life, I am going to take liberties here and blog the 5 Days of Christmas. So there.

Before I begin I just want to say that the much-needed Blog Hiatus was much-needed.  My epic virus lasted a solid 7 weeks and is still dwindling away gradually.  My speaking voice still sounds “like a cold” and so when people ask: Do you have a cold? I respond with: No, an epic virus.  I don’t know what else to call it.

Anyway, I just want you to know, I wasn’t faking it…a friend’s twin sister even took to calling me Bella from the latest Twilight film, because of how sick she looked, and I apparently looked.
*picture

I did manage to make it to our church Christmas party a few weeks ago. It was called A Night in Bethlehem.  In preparation, Lolly and I headed to the WAY discounted section of Paron Fabrics in our favorite fashion district, and picked up some yardage for $12-  When the employee at Paron realized why we were buying, he included some more scraps for us and even showed me how to cut it with 2 cuts to make tunics.  I was very appreciative.

I think we looked a little more like gypsies than citizens of Bethlehem, but we did our best.

The girls insisted that they were playing sheep in the live nativity, but since I had not heard that, I just kept dressing them in the purple and turquoise. Phoebe made sure they were both wearing white tops underneath, and I am glad because they didn’t have cotton-covered hats for them, just plain white caps, and they participated despite that. I was proud of my little sheep.

We had a nice time at our party, and it was a nice way to begin the season.

*Check us out on Manhattan Craft Room–we went to Crafternoon last week!  Have it be known, Lolly is 6, not 5 ; )…almost 7 in fact.

4 responses to “5 Days of Christmas: Night in Bethlehem

  1. So sorry that you have been sick. Hopefully, 2012 will bring you nothing but good health. Merry Christmas!

  2. Glad you’re starting to feel better Kage! Take care of yourself and try not to overdo it over the holidays, you don’t want it to come back!

  3. I think you need to bring those costumes to our house and put on a pageant.

Leave a Reply

