Crochet: Afghan


My friend Kelly commissioned her afghan with a pattern she found online. It looked challenging, but I got the hang of it very quickly, so this whipped up really fast.  The colors she wanted were a little rainbowy, so I made the pattern as non-rainbowy as possible.  I think I want to try it as a scrapghan in the future, I might like it better if it was more of a random color group.

The yarn: Lion Brand’s Vanna’s Choice in: sapphire, mustard, olive, purple & rust.  For fringe: linen, white and speckles of the bold colors listed above.

The fringe was white in the pattern, but I ended up mixing white, linen and the colors from the afghan into the fringe.  I also signed this afghan for the first time, by putting some pink into the fringe.

If you don’t want to buy the pattern, the technique is taught on KNIT AND CROCHET NOW! It’s called Playblock. Also, check your guage on this. I did NOT, so I ended up having to do way more than the pattern called for so that it wasn’t a square shape.  I like a good substantial afghan though, even Jason fits under it nicely.

2 responses to “Crochet: Afghan

  1. It is beautiful. I love how you incorporated the colors into the fringe! You do very even and nice work!

  2. To say I love it is an understatement! It is amazing!!! It looks so yummy on my couch! Thank you again for the labor of love that will be cherished FOREVER! And now that I know Jason was under it I will love it even more. :)

Leave a Reply

