Figment 2011


Last year the girls and I discovered the treasure that is Figment on Governor’s Island.  This year, our Saturday for Figment was conflicting with Renegade Craft Fair and an end-of-school-year party upstate, so I had to figure out a different way to get there.

My plan was to either force their classes to go on Friday during school (field trip!), or I would take them out of school on Friday and go just with them.  Thankfully, the teachers were on board and we took the 3rd grade and kindergarten to Figment!

It was hot, so for that reason it was good we were only out in the sun for about 3 hours, but no one wanted to leave when it was time to board the ferry home. EVERYONE was disappointed when it was over, and half of the installations weren’t even up and running yet!

I wish I could have stayed with the girls, but I was their leader, and we had to get back for a tap dance dress rehearsal for Lollykins.  I have dreams of having my own installation there one day, but I just don’t know what it would be.  I was mighty inspired by this today, got my wheels turning:

I’m always behind the camera on these adventures, but a friend of mine captured one of Phoebz and me.

One response to “Figment 2011

  1. that picture of you and your girl is priceless :)

Leave a Reply

