And Speaking of Girl Scouts


When I was 8 years old I walked in a parade in Chicago to celebrate the 75th Annivesary of the Girl Scouts.

I don’t remember much about the day, but looking at the photos I can remember what it was like to drink water out of those metal canteens, and the girl standing to my right in the top right corner had a name that started with a J (I think) and she is the forehead in which I knocked my teeth into, forever changing the landscape of my teeth.  In fact, I am very much dealing with that today, so she holds a special place in my heart right now.

I love that we are all wearing white tights and socks and high-top white sneakers.  If this were my kids, I’m thinking leggings and converse, maybe some leg warmers if it was chilly.

I never did make it past Brownies.

3 responses to “And Speaking of Girl Scouts

  1. you are sooo cute!

  2. These are darling pics of quite an occasion.

  3. you just took me waaaay back with that mention of the metallic canteen. And btw – i never made it past brownies either. maybe we should start a brownies group for the girls…..

Leave a Reply

