13.1


I cannot believe it is April 2nd and I just ran the half marathon that I committed to running over 4 months ago.

At this particular hour, I am extremely exhausted, but I wanted to record my feelings on the day before they were sucked into oblivion by the rigors of life.

I started coming down with that old familiar cold that I have been fighting since November on Monday.  I inhaled Wellness Formula for a few days and burped garlic burps in between meals.  On Friday I could have slept all day, but I powered through because I wanted to dedicate the day to the sport of running.

I picked up my packet, bought some cold-weather running gear and stopped by MORE Magazine’s half marathon expo (ours didn’t have one) to check out the merch and the speakers.  I felt inspired and excited.  At dinner with 3 other running buddies I ordered potato gnocchi with a side of mashed potatoes.  It was a lot of potatoes.

I slept so well.  In the morning I woke up naturally and everything came together for our departure.  It was chilly out, and we were constantly debating just what to wear.  I decided my francie pants would be fine, and I felt certain I would keep my long-sleeved shirt on the whole time, but quickly shed it after mile 1.

Our cheering section was pretty great.  Many folks on the route would yell out: “Yeah Sparkly Girls!”  One girl even made a second side to the sign she had made for her Mom, that read: I (heart symbol) your Sparkly Skirt. You Look Great.  Every time we passed, she said those exact words: “I love your sparkly skirts! You look great.”  Made me smile every time.

When I rounded the corner of Mile 1, I saw a giant sign that said Go Kristy, next to a sign that said Go Jen. I thought: What a coincidence that another Kristy and Jen are running and that she spells her name the same as mine.  As I got closer, I realized that a family from Phoebe’s class had come all the way from Northern Manhattan out to Flushing, Queens to cheer for us. I welled up.  And now I know the best way to inspire a long-distance runner is to surprise them on the route.

I ran side-by-side with my training partner Melissa. We never left each other.  We both had a hard time around mile 10, so to get through to mile 13.1 we recited vegetables, fruits, boys names, girls names, states, capitals, random cities and countries alphabetically for 3 miles.  It took our minds off the pain.

Our pace was just slightly faster than our training runs, but that got us in the end, it was hard, even though we had properly fueled, stretched and trained.  10:45 was our pace, and 2:20:39 was our official ending time.  I got a little teary when I reached the finish line, but there was no more liquid left to have a good cry.  Today, the overwhelming feeling I felt was that I am a good role model for my beautiful daughters, which makes me a good Mom, and that’s enough.

15 responses to “13.1

  1. Way to go!!! So happy you updated the blog to show how it went! Wonderful job :D

  2. AHH. MAZE. ING!!!!!

    Way to go!!!!!!! You did it!!! Yay! <3

  3. AWESOME!!! I am so proud of you.

    When my parents surprised me on a race route, I totally welled up too. I know exactly what you’re talking about.

    Maybe someday we’ll run the NYC marathon together ;)

  4. YAY! So cool. Now do you want to run another ??? :)

  5. kristie larsen

    YAY YAY YAY!!!! Congrats Lady! Get some rest!

  6. Amazing pic with the sphere!! You’re so inspiring. Way to go!!

  7. Congrats!!! I think I would cry like a little girl crossing that finish line!!

  8. One of your greatest achievements!

  9. i love the francie pants! congratulations on your run!

  10. Kristy- Way to go! It does feel so good to be a great example to your kids by doing something so hard. And how fun that you had such a big group! Who are your running buddies? Why didn’t you run when I was in NYC? I always wanted a running buddy. Anyway, you rock!

  11. You are awesome! love it!!

  12. I’m so crazy proud of you – what you did was inspiring. You are amazing :)

Leave a Reply

