Crochet: Branching Out


Carrie emailed me this lion brand pattern for Vintage Cascade Cowl and told me I could do it.

It’s intermediate!  I have not crocheted in the round before, except for a few flowers I recently worked on for this pattern. And I learned a new stitch: dc2tog!  It worked up really fast too. I was sad when it was over!

I used Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice in the colors the pattern called for: olive, pink, taupe, purple, & rust.

I thought there was a little flaw in the pattern, well, more likely a flaw in my crocheting– but I managed to squeak one out…just started over once, which is pretty good for my record of starting over a lot.

I really like the colors, though they feel more fall to me than spring.  I put it away in my DONE bin, in case I find the right person to give it too.  Look at that Lolly girl, I could just stare at her all day.

I had enough yarn left over to make another one.  Instead of repeating the pattern 3 times, I did it two, and added a flower.  It’s not as full and luscious as the original pattern, but it still works as a great accent piece for autumn.

 

7 responses to “Crochet: Branching Out

  1. Helen Knowles

    Nice scarf and Lolly is so cute – glad we got to see you guys for a few on Thursday – it was another fun part of my birthday celebration. One of these days I’m going to teach myself how to crochet.

  2. This is super cute! Nice job. But, I can’t see the patterns. What are they called and I’ll search. I love Lion Brand!

  3. i love that, seems cozy…

  4. Linda, Weird….This is vintage cascade cowl and the other is dublin scarf. They have TONS of free patterns online. And I found the least expensive way to buy THEIR yarn is fabric.com go through ebates for cashback and get a coupon on retailmenot….the yarn goes down about a dollar or more.

  5. christy, I might end up pulling it out for myself this fall….

  6. Seriously, that is lovely. Nice job – and yes, a darling picture of your girl :)

  7. favorite one so far!love it

Leave a Reply

