Halloween



I love how our Halloween Costumes turned out.  It was a great way to honor our new status as a family of 5.  We discussed Halloween possibilities with my parents over the summer and my Mom kept saying: “I’ve got it!” and then followed that revelatory statement with like a band from the 60′s that none of us had ever heard of.

She did, I think, get us on the road to thinking about the Olympics though…we picked up the conversation the next month and at first decided to each be an Olympic ring, but eventually started googling images and were inspired by those of the Fab 5 Gymnastics Team.

Technically, Jason is cross-dressing, but that’s ok…he is surrounded by girls, so it ought to happen once in a while.   I couldn’t find a scrunchy small enough for Pickle, but did manage to get her hair back in a proper Gymnasts ‘do.

Please note our Trunk for the Trunk or Treat decorated with a yarn-bombed Olympic Rings and photos of the Fab 5 altered by pic monkey.  I am especially thrilled with how the Gabby as a Demon on the bars turned out.

My trunk gave out markers, little mini tape dispensers that had tape with all different designs, and some Annie’s Honey Grahams.  Jason’s trunk gave out a variety of chocolate candies. His was decorated with American Girl dolls dressed in Halloween Costumes.

As always, our crew was decked out and we had so many great costumes there–so much eye candy!  I took tons of photos.  I won for Sweet and Scrumptious chili even though 80 percent of it spilled out of the pot ONTO THE FLOOR OF MY CAR when I slammed on the breaks to avoid hitting a car while going about 10 mph.  That was awesome…but only about 4 of my cookies were lost and those were a big hit (ALL HOMEMADE, NOT fresh direct and all the decorating materials and cookie cutter courtesy of my aunt who noticed i am a fan of the Sugar Skull).

I really must start thinking about next year already so that I can put together some more great costumes!  Happy Halloween!

5 responses to “Halloween

  1. One of your best ever. Really.

  2. Jennifer in GA

    Costumes are awesome! Font it MUCH better!! Thanks, Kage! LOL

  3. The costumes, the trunks, the skulls…all incredible! I can’t imagine being this creative and doing it with an infant! Great job!

  4. Outstanding! The Glass Posse is a gold medal team. I love the 9 picture collage, and oh Pickle and her Daddy! Love how your sugar skulls turned out!

  5. 15 minutes before we were suppose to leave E decided she wanted to be an Olympian. Thanks for the inspiration. It isn’t as spot on as yours but she did great for the amount of time we had, especially since I had sisters I had to get ready.

Leave a Reply

