Gradually Going Vegan


I gave Jason this book for his Glass Guild Awards prize.  I am pretty sure I originally saw it on a tweet or instagram….I had no idea what it was about, but the title sold me: Eat & Run.

So, now he wants to go Vegan.  This after I had JUST ordered our groceries for the week, with at least 2 chicken dishes.  I told him that going vegan affected me the most because I make dinner around here!  I said I would support him in Gradually Going Vegan.

For the past few weeks I have been making Vegan meals for dinner and I am really enjoying it because I allow myself cheese and such!  My favorite recipe of the past two weeks is Mexican Pizza. Seriously–so good!  Go make it! Right now!

My Dad has been Vegan for almost 2 years now. He has WASTED away to almost nothing, and because my Mom eats Vegan a lot with him, her cholesterol has plummeted.  I have finally lost a few pounds now and I am sure it is no coincidence that I have been eating vegan a lot the past 2 weeks.

Anywayz, we’ll see how we do.  Since we are eating this way for health reasons and not necessarily because we have a strong burning desire for the treatment of animals, we aren’t that concerned about not eating honey and we will probably socially bend rules if there isn’t an obvious vegan opportunity.  For now, I feel better about being vegetarian, as I do like my dairy products quite a bit, but I can feel the difference when I cut out animal products, so I may be completely won over before long.

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Gradually Going Vegan

  1. Is the whole house going vegan ??? Kids included.

    We have stints where we go vegetarian for a few weeks at a time. I love it and always feel better. I hate cooking meat, so it works for me. Now that I think about it, it’s been a while, maybe need to do it again.

  2. Hey if you want a great recipe for soup I can give you an easy formula. I just made a super yummy brocolli soup using the formula, I learned it in the class I took at a french cullinary school. Anyway, you take a little bit of fat (I used coconut oil, which I am hugely addicted to at this point but any fat will do, olive oil, whatever) Then you “sweat”(think saute at low heat – saute technicallly means high heat) something(s) from the onion family (leaks, garlic, onions, shallots, whatevs), After a few minutes you add your vegetable(s) and some in your case vegetable stock and cook until the veggies are done. Add some fresh herbs. Puree. Some people add cheese (ahem), or finish with cream (I didn’t). Also adding a squeze of lemon or line adds a little something.

    For mine if you want the details, I used coconut oil, garlic, a very large onion, brocolli, some romain lettuce that was on its way out, a couple mushrooms on their way out as well. I used chicken broth, and I use fresh rosemary, thyme, 3 fresh bay leaves (can you tell my neighbor has an herb garden), and a lot of fresh chives. I did add cheese for extra protein and I hate leftovers, but have been eating it for 3 days and served it for dinner 2 twice and everyone dug it. I have a little left for lunch tomorrow and I am pretty excited. I think I will try your mexican pizza idea. Oh and if you use an emersion blender (like I do) becareful not to get splashed while doing it. =)

  3. Doug follows and dreams of being just like Scott Jerek. Doug and I are pretty vegetarian, not strictly but tend to lean that way more and more. Don’t know if I could ever go Vegan. There is a guy we like in NYC who calls himself the fruitarian, Michael Arnstein. A little extreme but has a lot of interesting points. You may want to check him out.

Leave a Reply

