I Sew: Skirts


Last spring I clipped a catalog photo of a striped pocket skirt I wanted to make for the girls. When I saw this striped fabric at purlsoho, I knew I was ready.  Thankfully, Carrie visited me this summer and helped me with a pattern for this pocket skirt.  She showed me how to make an extra special pattern for a little girl’s skirt, and bonus extra special for you is that her tutorial is online!

Whirrly Twirly Skirt Tutorial

I learned how to make a pattern, I learned a new waistband finish and used bias tape to hem it!  Yippee!  I think I sewed pretty straight on this one too.  I am getting a little better!

I’ve even convinced my family to use this fabric as inspiration for our big family photoshoot in October.  I think this skirt is good enough to appear in said photo!  Now I need to find just the right fall pieces to go with it!

Lolly rejected the striped fabric I picked out for her, but requested I make the same skirt in a floral print.

2 responses to “I Sew: Skirts

  1. Those two are characters and certainly picking up modeling/posing.

  2. Helen Knowles

    Nice job (and I love the pockets).

Leave a Reply

